The Shark and the Scar

Categories:

10.39

If you can’t trust your family, who can you trust? A compelling mystery about family secrets, identity and the father-son relationship for readers aged 10+. For fans of Jenny Valentine, Siobhan Dowd and Lara Williamson.

Thirteen-year-old Jay survived a shark attack. He has a big scar on his body, and he doesn’t remember exactly what happened. Sadly, his estranged mum didn’t survive the horrific accident, and Jay and his dad have moved to the west coast of Ireland, where he surfs and keeps his past a secret. He’s not allowed a phone, and they don’t have the internet at home.

Then Jay discovers something that makes him realise his dad has been lying to him. What really happened on that awful day? And how can he ever trust anyone again?

Praise for All the Money in the World: ‘Great storytelling with a moral core’ The Sunday Times, Children’s Book of the Week

ISBN: 9781510104167

In stock

Thirteen-year-old Jay survived a shark attack. He has a big scar on his body, and he doesn’t remember exactly what happened. Sadly, his estranged mum didn’t survive the horrific accident, and Jay and his dad have moved to the west coast of Ireland, where he surfs and keeps his past a secret. He’s not allowed a phone, and they don’t have the internet at home. But when he and his friend Jess do some research for her family’s surfing school, he discovers something that makes him sure his dad has been lying. Suddenly Jay doesn’t recognise the dad he’s trusted all his life. So what really happened on the terrible day he can’t remember?

Additional information

Weight0.22 kg
Dimensions19.6 × 12.8 × 2.2 cm
Author

Publisher

Imprint

Cover

Paperback

Pages

262

Language

English

Edition

Paperback original

Dewey

823.92 (edition:23)

Readership

Children – juvenile / Code: J

Gift Vouchers

Can’t find the right book, why not give a gift card and let them find that special book. 

Learn More >

Click and Collect/Special Requests

If we don’t have the book you want, we will do our best to order it for you and often have it in a few days.

Learn More >

Receive the latest news

Subscribe To Our Newsletter

Get notified about new articles

Find the right book...