Constellations

Categories:

12.99

*Shortlisted for the Rathbones Folio Prize 2020*
*Winner of non-fiction book of the year at the Irish Book Awards*

An extraordinarily intimate book of essays that chart the experiences that have made Sinéad Gleeson the woman and the writer she is today, for readers of The Last Act of Love and I Am, I Am, I Am.

‘Utterly magnificent. Raw, thought-provoking and galvanising; this is a book every woman should read.’ – Eimear McBride, author of A Girl Is a Half-formed Thing.

I have come to think of all the metal in my body as artificial stars, glistening beneath the skin, a constellation of old and new metal. A map, a tracing of connections and a guide to looking at things from different angles.

How do you tell the story of a life in a body, as it goes through sickness, health, motherhood? How do you tell that story when you are not just a woman but a woman in Ireland? In the powerful and daring essays in Constellations Sinéad Gleeson does that very thing. All of life is within these pages, from birth to first love, pregnancy to motherhood, terrifying sickness, old age and loss to death itself.

Throughout this wide-ranging collection she also turns her restless eye outwards delving into work, art and our very ways of seeing. In the tradition of some of our finest life writers, and yet still in her own spirited, generous voice, Sinéad takes us on a journey that is both uniquely personal and yet universal in its resonance. Here is the fierce joy and pain of being alive.

‘Breathtaking and sublime.’ – Nina Stibbe

‘Absolutely extraordinary and life-enhancing.’ – Daisy Buchanan, author of How to be Grown-up.

ISBN: 9781509892778

Out of stock

Sinéad Gleeson’s Constellations explores the relationship between our bodies and our identity.

Additional information

Weight0.188 kg
Dimensions19.5 × 12.9 × 1.8 cm
Author

Publisher

Imprint

Cover

Paperback

Pages

304

Language

English

Edition
Dewey

828.9209 (edition:23)

Readership

General – Trade / Code: K

Gift Vouchers

Can’t find the right book, why not give a gift card and let them find that special book. 

Learn More >

Click and Collect/Special Requests

If we don’t have the book you want, we will do our best to order it for you and often have it in a few days.

Learn More >

Find the right book...

Receive the latest news

Subscribe To Our Newsletter

Get notified about new articles